By Guest Blogger – Ms. Hardly Hidden
Who better to prepare me / us about adolescents and body image than a teenage naturist girl! Below is the post she wrote specially for us.
Teen Girls And Body Image Problems
Seeing Through http://nudenudist.com/tube/while-looking-for-the-nude-beach/
I just recently turned 15 years old. I am a teenaged girl and I’ve been a naturist for the last 3 years. Currently, I attend an all-girls school where personal growth and development are strongly encouraged. As a result, body approval is also widespread in our community. Despite this, the students around me still look to have a hard time accepting their own bodies. As a teen, I am faced everyday with predicaments and worries concerning my body and others. At school, regardless of who you hang out with, you hear folks say stuff like; “I’m too fat.” “You’re so pretty!” “My boobs are too modest.” “My boobs are too big.” “I wish I looked like you.”
Personally I don’t find these issues to be as pressing. As a young child, I loved to read and learn. I didn’t watch lots of TV or read magazines. By averting those two media sources, I managed to avoid so much of the mainstream media’s ideas. I was not comparing myself to models and I looked up to naturist fkk as examples of great adults. My father was also a photo-shoot stylist for a while, which presented me to an entirely different view of fashion than the broadly accepted view. I saw fashion and clothes in general, to have two primary uses: function and/or expression.
I knew I would not look like a model in a magazine, but I also knew that models did not look like models in magazines. Hairdressers, make-up artists, photographers, and stylists all contributed to the image that would function as product of the pic-shoot. In fact, only a small few of the images taken ever make it to the public eye. Understanding this alleviated that pressure of living up to the graphics of attractiveness which were illustrated in vogue magazines everywhere.
Nonetheless, I still started to become insecure. You will find two things that helped me gain self-confidence and approval of my own body. Dance and naturism really allowed me to overcome my insecurities. Dancing was a way for me to learn to be in control of my body and to accept the fact that it transformed at another rate than my peers’ bodies. Naturism on the other hand, allowed me to really see that nobody was the same. Everybody was different and the socially approved views of attractiveness were limited to a small amount of real people. Even then, they didn’t fit the ideal flawlessly.
Overall, I found attractiveness to be a very subjective ideal that depended on the situation and individual. Now I personally find that everybody around me has their own appealing qualities that shine through, being a child or a teenager is rough for that matter so is being an adult! I found that, accepting that your system will grow in its way is an important part of body acceptance.
I would really like to thank Ms. Barely Hidden for writing this wonderful website about Teenage Body Image for us! Please feel free to comment and show her the love and recognition she deserves!
Let us hope she will be willing to share more of her thoughts with us!
This guest article titled – Teenage Naturist Teaches Us About Teenage Body Image Problems – was released by Young Naturists and Young Nudists America FKK
Tags: body image, body shame, adolescents
Category: Body Image Blogs, Naturism and Naturism
About the Writer (Author Profile)
Guest blogs written exclusively for Nudist Portal.

